Writing 101: One-Word Inspiration

Today’s Writing 101 and Blogging 101 tasks:

Prompts come in many different forms. Sometimes, a single word is all you need to get your mind’s wheels turning. Here are six words:
TREASURE
REGRET
HOME
LOVE
UNCERTAINTY
SECRET
Select one word in this list that speaks to you in some way. Have you always wanted to write about that wrong decision you made? Are you a long-term traveler looking for the right city to settle? Do you want to write a poem about your relationship?

Blogging is a communal experience; if you didn’t want anyone to read your posts, you’d keep a private diary. Today, you’ll engage with the blogging community, the first step in building an audience.

Today’s assignment: follow five new tags in the Reader and five new blogs.

I have tried Blogging 101 before and usually got through the first few days before something cropped up that forced me to stop. I usually got to day 3 or further, but found choosing tags and blogs to follow difficult. Today, however, Writing 101 asked me to write a post that was inspired by one word, and I was inspired to do both based on the word love, specifically things I love doing.

Today I have added the tags Astronauts, Human Spaceflight, Freediving, Skydiving and Surfing to the reader. The first two are obvious from yesterday’s post. Skydiving and surfing are sports I have tried and enjoyed; I’m particularly keen to give skydiving one more go once I’ve got enough money together, though it’s something I need to be careful about as I’m pushing myself and my condition to my limit when I do it and it can be a dangerous sport if you’re not careful. Freediving is something I am interested in learning at a casual level; I have always enjoyed swimming but I see it as having much more ‘depth’ (if you’ll excuse the pun) than simply splashing around on the surface. I enjoy swimming along the bottom of the pool but my local pool isn’t really deep enough to dive down properly and I’m not a strong enough swimmer for that at the moment anyway. I really need to get myself back into training.

In addition to the tags, I have followed the following blogs:

along with a few others. I also follow several blogs through feedly on my iPad, though most of what I follow there are big sites like Lifehacker and some of the Apple-centric press. I might use it to consolidate the blogs I’m following into one app, however, as I’m more familiar with it and use it daily anyway.

Following these blogs and tags has started to stimulate my mind into thinking about the things I love doing and how to do more of them. It also starts to give me some ideas for reaching out to join in with these kinds of things. This is something I want to continue so over the next few days I will try to find some time to go through the tags I’ve followed and add some more blogs to my list, and perhaps follow some more tags. If I get time I might also set up a consolidated page listing all the blogs I follow.

4 thoughts on “Writing 101: One-Word Inspiration

Leave a Reply

