Looking Back on Blogging 101 and Writing 101

Blogging 101 and Writing 101 have now come to a close. Although I haven’t been able to complete all the tasks/prompts I feel like I have learned a few useful things about blogging and the WordPress platform, and I have got my blog going nicely.

I have already attempted Blogging 101 before but there has usually been something crop up that has interrupted me and stopped me from completing it. This time around I feel like I’ve done much better and I’ve completed much more of the course. My main weakness has been in commenting: I haven’t really got into commenting on other people’s blogs at all and that’s something I’m going to have to think about as I continue with my blog. Nevertheless, I feel a sense of completion.

I have not tried Writing 101 before and I struggled to maintain the daily posting routine that it is designed to encourage; more importantly I don’t think I want to be blogging every day as I want to take the time to write something more meaningful (and I don’t always have the time for blogging in amongst all the other stuff I get up to). I also want to write a different kind of material to what Writing 101 seemed to be calling for. I’ve learned a few things here too, but I’m not sure if I’ll return to it as I did with Blogging 101 given how I feel about it. Perhaps I’ll reconsider it once my blog is better established….

Now that I’ve started back at university again I don’t think I’ll have the time for posting frequently but I hope to be able to post once or twice a week. I’ve started to enjoy working on my blog and I want to start writing some more substantial content for it.

One thought on “Looking Back on Blogging 101 and Writing 101

Leave a Reply

